Hand Bells – (Schulmerich Bells)

Schulmerich BellsSaturday, December 6, 2014

Today I am grateful for hand bells.  I have never played hand bells, but it’s on my bucket list.  Shouldn’t a bucket list get shorter?  Mine is growing like hips on Halloween.

“Hark how the bells. . .sweet silver bells. . .all seem to say. . .Throw cares away!”

I love that. Let’s throw our cares away, okay!?  I’ll go first.  Poof!  They’re gone.

I have spent a lot of time in the last few weeks writing about great places to visit in Wisconsin.  Well now it’s time to go local, right in Hatfield, Pennsylvania and NO, I’m not getting a kick-back from any of these places.  Wanna see my checkbook for proof?  It ain’t purdy!  A friend posted a notice for Schulmerich Bells Open House @ 5 p.m on Thursday, December 11th, on Facebook the other day.  Say Schulmerich five times. . .with a mouth of peanuts. . .in front of a mirror. . .and let me know how it goes!   Now there’s a selfie I can’t wait to see.

I knew she had changed jobs, but had no idea to where.  Hand bells?  What fun! I know these amazing instruments are used by churches and school bands and orchestras, but I had no idea the facility that makes them is right in my own back yard.  Talk about dense!  What planet have I been on?  Don’t answer that.  Nanoo-nanoo.

I think everyone should go.  I think the press and TV stations should come and report some really good news, instead of the blasted protest marches all over the country.  I’d much rather hear bells than shouts about. . .well. . .anything!

I checked my facts and there will be tours of the facility all night, starting at 5 p.m., with the machines making actual bells between 5 & 6.  I’m getting excited!  I’ve seen brooms, trucks, candles, tile and toilets being made, but I’ve never seen hand bells produced.  There will be food and a bell choir performance.  Between 6 & 6:30, kids can ring the bells.  Did I mention I’m ten-years-old?  Honest.  If I don’t get my mitts on a hand bell, I’ll make a scene and no one can do it like I can!

We have another event in the afternoon, but I am grateful we’ll be at that open house at Schulmerich. . .with bells on!  (Sorry, had to.)  Ding-dong. . .dinggg-dongggggg. . .

Schulmerich Holiday Open House

Thursday, December 11 at 5:00pm

11 Church Road, Hatfield, PA

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

