Dessert

Blueberry dessert Bluebery dessert emptyMonday, November 10, 2014

Today I am grateful for dessert. Okay, when I was typing this I automatically capitalized dessert.  That shows you how I feel about it.

They say that people on their death beds wish they had eaten more dessert. No duh!  I rarely eat dessert but when I do, I make sure it is a “worth it” dessert.  To think someone could screw up in the making of a chocolate chip cookie is unconscionable.  But if it tastes like cardboard with chips and it’s not really, really good, I don’t want it.  If it’s good, the way it’s supposed to be, and melts in my mouth with all of the proper ingredients that God makes, I become one with it.  I can make a good cookie last twenty minutes.  It’s almost a spiritual event.  Okay, it IS a spiritual event.

The point is that life is too short to deny yourself dessert. . .once in a while at least. But remember, bad desserts have the same calories as good ones.  I won’t eat tasteless, boring calories.  If I’m going to challenge myself to juggle food choices around and exercise like a lunatic in order to have dessert, then that dessert better satisfy every single pore of my being.  I’ll give it a pass on vacuuming, but everything else ought to be there.

My sister likes fruity desserts and ordered a Blueberry something-something for her birthday lunch. To me fruit in dessert is a foul, but that’s just me.  I ordered a heavenly chocolate-chunk-peanut-butter torte thingy.  It almost vacuumed.  I couldn’t hold the camera and the spoon at the same time so I am grateful I got a picture of my sister’s dessert.  Mine vaporized. We made good choices.  I wish the same for you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

