Antibiotics

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????Friday, October 03, 2014

Today I am grateful for antibiotics. Yes, I’ve been to the doctor and I have a sinus infection.  Glad we nailed that down so I can take the cure and get back to my perky, sassy self.  I’m sure my friends at the “Y” cry every day I’m not there.  Boo Hoo.  So do my thighs. Hah!  Fat chance and I use the word “fat” literally.

 

I got to thinking about the miracles of science and the scientists who make them happen. Imagine our world today without antibiotics.  I went on line to find out how long ago they came into use and discovered that there were smatterings of “mould” cures way, way back.  But penicillin in a recognizable form came into being in the 1870’s.  That’s only about 25 years before my grandma was born.

 

I know there is an on-going concern about the overuse of antibiotics, as there should be. No one should take medication they don’t really need because that’s just stupid and ineffective.  Hey, I’m not even nuts about the overuse of hand sanitizers.  WASH your hands correctly (while singing the Happy Birthday song) instead and only use sanitizers when soap and water isn’t available.

 

But before antibiotics, people died from reasonably simple illnesses that are now completely curable with its use. Farm injuries, pneumonia, typhoid, animal bites, gun shots, cuts, staph infections. . .you can add to the list.  So God bless science. . .and especially antibiotics, for which I am very grateful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

