Reading Challenges

Book - Daughter of YorkSunday, August 03, 2014

Today I am grateful for reading challenges.  We finally have the grand-dog tuckered out so I can now speak for myself.  I’m challenging my brain cells and reading a 600 page novel, Daughter of York, by Anne Easter Smith.  It’s fitting because Her Majesty (Winnie) rarely sleeps unless it is on a pillow or cushion. The main character in the book has, for the first time, slept like a serf and was bitten alive by bedbugs.  Swell.

This book is a challenge.  Not only does it have a Dramatis Personae listing all of the characters and titles; it also has a Platagenet Family Tree; and a useless map that I have dog-eared, but it still doesn’t have all the places listed on it; and a Glossary, also dog-eared, so that I can learn that a “houppeland” is a full-length tunic with full sleeves and a train, “jakes” is a pisspot and a “leman” is a lover, usually a mistress.  Don’t get them switched up.  Then there is a Bibliography, Summary and Discussion Questions.  Are you kidding me?  I could never discuss this book.  I’m almost finished and I still don’t understand it all.  Hah!  All?  Almost none!

Why am I reading this thing, you might ask, as I have asked myself about a hundred times?  Because someone bought it for me knowing my fascination with all things British and I thought I needed a challenge.  I don’t remember who gave it to me and that’s a good thing or I’d get them over here to explain the last 400 chapters. It took me weeks of reading/napping to even get to the point where I cared about the characters.  But I didn’t quit.   I’m sure it fascinates some readers to be thusly challenged, but heading into the last 100 pages, I can’t imagine why.  Still, I read on, because I have always finished a book I’ve started.  Always except once, when I threw “Wicked” across the room and refused to pick it up for days.  If I want to learn a new language I’ll get tapes.

I admire the fact that any writer would take on such a project.  Just jostling the ancient locations (1461-1468), endless travels and nightmare names in several languages would send me screaming.  I wouldn’t know if she made any mistakes because I’m too mentally challenged to check on that.  I do know that if Margaret doesn’t’ end up with Anthony,  I’m burning this book in my back yard!  Watch for the smoke because it isn’t looking good.

So today I am grateful for reading challenges.  I’m gonna finish this one today or die trying.  Next I’m going to read quick-trash!  It’s all about balance.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

